31st October 2020

Twitter adds a blocked contacts sharing option

In an effort to curb cyberbullying and abuse/harassment, Twitter has announced a new feature that allows users to share their list of blocked contacts.

The social media platform announced this on its blog, stating that “You can now export and share your block lists with people in your community facing similar issues or import another user’s list into your own account and block multiple accounts all at once, instead of blocking them individually.”

The move was probably done to counter the increasing cases of cyber abuse from some users on its platforms towards others in recent months. The blocked list sharing option enables one to share with others in their Twitter circles who may be facing similar issues to block all those contacts as well at once. It also enables users to import another user’s blocked list and block everyone on that list at once as well.

This feature will be much appreciated by users who get trolled on a daily basis.

This is not the first time in recent months that Twitter has tried to make its platform user-friendly in the literal sense. In December 2014, Twitter launched the blocked accounts settings page and tightened the rules so accounts that a user’s profile was hidden from the users who’d been blocked. This year in April, Twitter announced additional policy and enforcement changes as another step towards making Twitter safer for everyone.

Find out more on blocking users on Twitter here.

Sandi

Tech blogger. Gadget junkie. Life lover. I love eyeliner. Miller runs through my veins.

View all posts by Sandi →