17th January 2021

WhatsApp may temporarily ban you for these reasons

 

WhatsApp

WhatsApp has just updated its Terms & Conditions, to include the fact that it is owned by Facebook, that it has made new updates such a s file sharing, voice calls, and made a web app (WhatsApp Web) available for PCs.

WhatsApp also rolled out a new connect-to-Facebook option that they say will bring you friend suggestions based on your contacts or ads relevant to users within the Facebook app (WhatsApp will still not allow third-party ads thank goodness!), but I opted out because firstly, I don’t need to connect that badly and secondly, again, I DON’T NEED TO CONNECT THAT BADLY! This Facebook-WhatsApp connection feature has also been included to fight spam and abuse.

Uhm, OK.

There are some new rules though that could see a user being banned from using the messaging service and here’s what would warranty a ban from using WhatsApp:

  • Sending too many messages to users who do not have your number saved in their address books. Make sure that you ask all of your WhatsApp contacts to add your current number to their address books.
  • Being blocked by too many people in a short period of time. Make sure you only communicate with people who want to receive messages from you.
  • Creating too many groups that contain users who do not list you in their address books. Make sure that you ask all of your WhatsApp contacts to add your current number to their address books.
  • Sending the same message to too many people. Use Broadcast Lists to send the same message to your contacts.
  • Violating our Terms of Service.

WhatsApp has given its stance on the temporary ban on their FAQ page:

‘If we suspect that your account activity constitutes an abuse of our system or a violation of our Terms of Service, your account will be temporarily banned from using WhatsApp. You will receive a warning message in the app that contains the duration of this temporary ban.

During the temporary ban, you will not be able to access any part of your WhatsApp account. You will be able to use your account again after the countdown timer runs out.’

In another post it shared more on the temporary ban:

Please review the “Acceptable Use of Our Services” section of our Terms of Service carefully to learn more about the appropriate uses of WhatsApp and the activities that violate our Terms of Service. We may not issue a warning before banning your account. If you think your account was banned by mistake, please email us and we will look into your case. 72 hours after your account has been banned, your friends will no longer be able to see you in their Favorites list (Contacts tab on Android).

Have you experienced a ban yet? Do share.

Sandi

Tech blogger. Gadget junkie. Life lover. I love eyeliner. Miller runs through my veins.

View all posts by Sandi →