10th December 2019

How to deactivate and delete your Facebook account

frabz-Leaving-FaceBook-Youll-be-back-e97bbd

Are you one of those people trying to make a grand exit from Facebook (and/or has been telling the world about it for years)?

Here’s how to finally leave:

  1. Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
    facebook
    Facebook on mobile app

     

     

    ktredfg
    Facebook view on desktop

     

  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Security in the left column.
  4. Choose ‘Deactivate your account’ then follow the steps to confirm.

This does not entirely get rid of your account, it will be invisible to your friends but can still be reactivated by you if you log into it with your credentials. You will get your whole account back with all its history, past activity and friends list.

To completely delete your account you can click here. It will take about 90 days for everything to be deleted off your account by Facebook.

Some data like messages you sent to friends will still be visible to them even if your account isn’t available any more.

Sandi

Tech blogger. Gadget junkie. Life lover. I love eyeliner. Miller runs through my veins.

View all posts by Sandi →